Day 20. Marriage and whatnot.

Day 20. Someone you see yourself marrying/being with in the future.

Well I guess it’s time to come public with the fact that Aaron Rodgers is my future ex-husband (yes, ex: celeb marriages never work and I’m being realistic). He may not be aware of it yet, but that’s a minor detail and that’s my plan. Plans frequently change though. In the event I don’t end up Mrs. Rodgers, I suppose I could find another suitable option. This other option would have to:
*Have a solid sense of humor similar to my own. I like all kinds of humor- dirty, dry, sarcastic, witty, etc.
*Be kind to animals– I’m not saying he/she (I’m fairly open minded I guess) needs to run a zoo in their house but it’s important to me they aren’t actively mean/neglectful to animals.
*Try to get along with their family— it’s not always possible but I value someone who feels family is important.
*Have their own identity/friends. I’m all for mixing friends, but I don’t want to be anyone’s entire social life. I make sure I schedule some time every week to do my own thing- they need to as well.
*Encourage me to be better without pushing too hard— tricky one. As an example, when I say I want to focus more on eating better, encourage it but be on board and don’t put me down if I decide I want pizza one night.
*Be an open and honest communicator.  Communication is huge for me and the more open and honest someone is, the closer I feel to them and the more secure I am in that relationship.
*Be flexible– sometimes I love lazy days, other times I am restless and need to be doing something. You don’t have to be up for/do everything I’m in the mood for all the time, but be flexible about variety.
*Love my dog. She’s got some quirks but she’s overall a great dog. She is  very important to me and will be with me until one of us dies.
*Be willing to visit South Dakota— I know it isn’t a top tourist destination- but it’s where I grew up and where my family and friends are. I try to visit at least 2-3 times a year.
*Enjoy/appreciate music. A variety would be awesome, but I’ll jam nearly anything. I like going to shows and I listen to music almost always when I’m cleaning/cooking/driving/working/showering/getting ready. I also like talking about music.
*Be faithful. This is so important. In today’s society it’s easy to get swept up and overwhelmed with options. Technology is great but now there’s sexting, online dating, apps designed to cover up evidence of at least a textual/virtual affair, so on. It’s something I’ve dealt with in almost every relationship and ultimately the reason why most of them ended.
*Be present. I don’t want to spend time with you and your phone/xbox/etc. If we’re out to dinner, I’d like to think our conversation should be able to hold your attention without the interruption of facebook or whatever. Should that not be the case, use your communication skills to tell me I’m a boring conversationalists and let’s think of something to talk about.  Obviously emergent/pressing situations are an exception.
*Be patient. Sometimes I’m ridiculous, sometimes I get self conscious and need a little reassurance, sometimes I’m indecisive (mostly about food), sometimes I’m silly, every once in a while I even get emotional. Be patient with me being a human woman and I’ll be patient with you when you’re being human.

I think that covers it more or less. Lucky for me, I have spent the last year and a half with someone who seems to embody that list. Even better, he knows about Aaron Rodgers. I’d consider myself pretty fortunate if I were able to spend however long I’ve got left with him  but I’ve learned nothing is guaranteed and I’m happy to take things one day at a time just knowing that there is someone out there who can be all of these things.  Yay love stuff!

About dawn of april

Figuring life and the "about me" out as I go :) In a nutshell: I work, go to school, run a women's book club, support the local music scene in Denver, and whatever else floats my boat at the time.
This entry was posted in about me, blog challenges, People!, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Day 20. Marriage and whatnot.

  1. Point 5 … my poor husband is still trying to get that one right. Lol!

Leave a Reply

