Day 18- Hook

25-songs-blog-challenge5 Day 18 is a song that you love but rarely listen to… this was hard for me because I am always listening to a wide variety of music, however just last night I was talking to friends about songs I haven’t heard in forever… and I feel like that’s close enough. One that came up was “Hook” from Blues Traveler. I remember loving that song as a child (and getting the lyrics terribly wrong– I thought it was “the hook brings you back, all of Michigan will lie”  like maybe it was a fishing song….and as we had this plaque that said “the only time a fisherman tells the truth is when he calls another fisherman a liar”…  I thought the hook was for fishing..and since there’s a lot of lakes around Michigan, maybe they’re all lying fisherman? I don’t know- I was probably around 7 when the song came out- cut me a break) Anyways, haven’t heard it in forever and love that song…and now that I know the lyrics… I realize they are way better than I thought they were and realize just how horribly wrong I was. Also, as I YouTubed the video to share it… I was informed that Emma Stone performed it in a lip syncing battle recently.. so that’s cool and maybe why my friend thought about it. Either way, it was a trip back in time for me. Another one that came up was “Raise Up” from Petey Pablo— yeah, two totally different sides of the spectrum, but I listen to a LOT of music. That was one I used to really enjoy dancing to and haven’t heard in a loong time…like so long that the last time I heard it, I probably made sure to be wearing a tank top under whatever shirt I was wearing so that I could listen when he said “take yo shirt off, twist it round your head, spin it like a helicopta”…so… 2003/4? Yeah, go ahead and judge. http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=pdz5kCaCRFM

About dawn of april

Figuring life and the "about me" out as I go :) In a nutshell: I work, go to school, run a women's book club, support the local music scene in Denver, and whatever else floats my boat at the time.
This entry was posted in Songs, Tangent and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

