Day 16- When I Get Where I’m Going

25-songs-blog-challenge5

Day 16 is a song that has made you cry. Admittedly, there are a couple of those– not for the song itself necessarily, but for the emotions associated with when I heard those particular tunes. One that jumps to mind is probably the first song that made me cry at a funeral and that was Mercy Me’s “I Can Only Imagine at my godfather’s funeral in 2006. That was the first funeral of someone who was very close to me and who’s death was very unexpected and seeing my dad tear up absolutely destroyed me.

The other one that I still have a hard time listening to is Brad Paisley’s “When I Get Where I’m Going”.  This song was played at my grandma’s funeral and wake (another unexpected loss of someone more dear to my heart than words can express). For the wake, it was played as a soundtrack to a video someone made with pictures of her and the family. Seeing how much love she had for all of us (and I mean ALL of us-there’s a lot!) and knowing that although she taught us how to love and be thankful for each other, we wouldn’t get any more of her hugs or typical grandma kisses on the cheeks, and all the other stuff I can only attribute to her just crushed me- and still does. I have to admit, even writing this makes my heart feel a billion times heavier and my eyes a little watery. Music is a very powerful thing, associated with the strongest of emotions that will linger on for a lifetime.

About dawn of april

Figuring life and the "about me" out as I go :) In a nutshell: I work, go to school, run a women's book club, support the local music scene in Denver, and whatever else floats my boat at the time.
This entry was posted in People!, Songs, Tangent and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

