Day 7- Boys Round Here

25-songs-blog-challenge5

Day 7 is a song that reminds you of the past summer. This past summer I took a road trip with a friend I’ve never road tripped with. A 6 hour drive landed us in the Sturgis, SD proximity for the opening weekend of the bike rally. When I picked him up, I said “Do whatever you want with the music, I’ll listen to anything” He started playing some country music just outside of Denver and it was at that point we both remembered that country was a mutual like (it’s not favored by our other friends). For most of the trip we rocked country jams and one in particular we listened to a few times and the first time it came on we had a laugh because we described it as everything a certain friend hates about country- trucks, rednecks, girls, dirt roads, beer, honky tonk, farming, etc. put in very simple terms. That song is none other than Blake Shelton’s “Boys Round Here“. This song also could have fit in yesterday’s post because it does remind me of that friend, who actually turned out to be the most relaxed road trip partner I’ve had. Other songs would be “Blurred Lines” by Robin Thicke, Daft Punk’s “Get Lucky” and “F*ckin Problem” by ASAP Rocky from the girls nights out dancing.

About dawn of april

Figuring life and the "about me" out as I go :) In a nutshell: I work, go to school, run a women's book club, support the local music scene in Denver, and whatever else floats my boat at the time.
This entry was posted in People!, Songs, Tangent and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

