Day 2- Stupid Girl

25-songs-blog-challenge5Oh boy, songs that remind me of my most recent ex… Well, that’s a whole can of worms. Truthfully while we were together there were a billion songs that reminded me of him/us- music was a large part of our life. After we split, there were a lot of songs some sad, some angry, some happy and nostalgic even. But now, well there’s just a couple.  I don’t feel anything in a romantic capacity towards him any longer so those same lovey songs that once made me think of him, no longer do. However, “our song” has a little bit of irony. We both really like the band Cold and thought it’d be fun to have “Stupid Girl” be “our song” and now it seems the irony has twisted. So here’s that tune:

A little back story for the second one: we were those people who try to be friends after they break up. I had my doubts that we could make that work and that as soon as he got a girlfriend, I would be written off slowly. He proved me right on that. For the last month and a half he’s not been someone I’d call a friend, but more like someone who can’t stand me being around, and unfortunately doesn’t even have the decency to tell me why or what I’ve done. I definitely think we needed some space and I’m glad we have had some this past month; no matter what I did it was never right by him even when I had the best of intentions and it made me feel very negative, which is where the second song comes in. We may never be friends again, and that sucks…especially for our mutual friends. I just hope we get to a place where we can be civil enough to be in the same place and not actively avoid each other, thus making it awkward. Anyways, the second song I’m sharing is one I heard/paid attention to after things started to go sour. I’m actually glad he “let me go” which gave me time to recover and move on from some of the negativity our interactions made me feel, I just wish it didn’t have to be that way and we could try the whole being nice thing now that we’ve both had some space and have moved on. Please enjoy “Let Me Go” from Seether.    https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=zn59S8EKurA

* I guess I should add that I do take responsibility for some of what happened- there’s two sides to every story.

About dawn of april

Figuring life and the "about me" out as I go :) In a nutshell: I work, go to school, run a women's book club, support the local music scene in Denver, and whatever else floats my boat at the time.
This entry was posted in People!, Tangent and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

