Day 1

25-songs-blog-challenge5So Day 1 is a song from my childhood. Well I can’t pick just one. As soon as I read this and thought “Well that’s a great idea…let me think about this“, a couple songs popped in my head. So I’m sharing more than one.  The first one that I thought of as being a kick in the childhood was Tom Petty’s “You Wreck Me”  I very distinctly remember being probably 6 or so and dancing around on top of a chair to that song… the chair was there because I could not reach the volume knob without it and when “helping” clean the house, I would hear that song and go crank it and dance around on the chair. I can remember my whole family dancing/jamming out to that song. So, here it is.

Another one I immediately thought of was Nitty Gritty Dirt Band’s “Fishin in the Dark“. The lyrics “…It don’t matter if we sit forever and the fish don’t bite” would have been tattooed around one of my memorial leafs for my godfather because it reminds me of him and my dad and as a child my favorite past time was fishing with them. Keep in mind I had no idea of the context of the song. So..that’s this one. 

Also, Roxette’s “Joyride” came jumping to mind because I had a cassette tape that had that song on it about 6 times and their song “The Look” on there twice (once on each side) and I listened to it over and over. In doing this little project, I looked up their video for Joyride and it is ridiculous/awesome. Take a look to see just how far we’ve come in 20 years.

Other songs include Billy Ray Cyrus -“Achy Breaky Heart“, Lynyrd Skynyrd- “Sweet Home Alabama“, Toni Basil- “Mickey” and LeAnn Rimes- “Blue

Any tunes that give you a swift kick in the childhood?

 

About dawn of april

Figuring life and the "about me" out as I go :) In a nutshell: I work, go to school, run a women's book club, support the local music scene in Denver, and whatever else floats my boat at the time.
Video | This entry was posted in Tangent and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

