A year ago…How time flies!

Happy Memorial weekend! And thanks to all who make and have made this holiday what it is.  A year ago this particular weekend I was flying high on excitement as I left South Dakota that Thursday night heading for Denver, CO. This was going to be my first time in Colorado, but I had the money in my account to put down a deposit for an apartment. I was confident from what I had heard/read that I was going to love it here. We got to Denver at about 8:00 AM Friday morning—talk about an introduction to traffic coming from a town of 20,000 people—and headed straight for the first apartment on our list.

We carefully looked over neighborhoods, reviews, pricing, and set-up on so many apartments before we set-up times to tour them. This first apartment, however, we’d come across the day before we were leaving and upon skimming over it, it looked like it met all of our standards- 2 decent sized rooms, pet friendly (the girl moving with me had a little dog), decent neighborhood/location, and in our price range. We drove all over the metro area, looked at 3 or 4 more apartments, drove by one or two deciding they looked better on paper, and by 3pm, having been awake for well over 24 hours (spare an hour nap here and there), we checked into our hotel room and crashed for a couple hours.

As soon as both of us were awake and semi-coherent in our state of sleep depravity, we immediately narrowed our choices to two apartments- the first one, and another one that was a little ($75/month) more expensive, but had a great set up (same size huge closets) and a lot of features-tennis/volleyball courts, pools, big gym, dog park, etc. After some serious thinking shopping we decided over some Olive Garden (at home we would have had to drive 100 miles for this particular restaurant) that we were going to go with the first. It was cheaper, we liked the location better, and how often were we going to play volleyball/tennis, honestly. The only hard decision left to make was who would get the “master bedroom” with the closet big enough to store the Bronco’s offensive line up.

I wanted it like a politician wanting your vote, and in the same manner would do/say anything to get it. Thinking this was going to be something of a challenge, I started small and first offered to pay half ($10) of the pet rent for her dog and said something along the lines of, “The space would be really nice to store my inventory…” *Sidenote- I am a semi-retired Pure Romance consultant, but was very active in it at the time* She ate that deal up right away, what a SUCKER- I would have offered all of the pet rent, all of the cleaning, our first pizza delivery, and a day getting our hair done.

The rest of the weekend was spent being a tourist and that was awesome. Recently, I had been talking with my ex, asking him questions about how he liked it in Colorado (he moved out here just months before—no he wasn’t even close to the reason I moved) and when he found out I was coming out to look for an apartment the “I’ve been kind of missing you” texts started to pollute my inbox. The 10 county metro area of Denver consists of about 3 million people and it wasn’t until after I signed my lease that I found out I would be living about 8 blocks from him. I knew he was living in that particular “suburb” and even still I figured with it being kind of spread out and 150,000 people, odds are slim we will run into each other if we don’t plan it, but 8 blocks?! That’s the same grocery store, gas station, liquor store, bars, all that happy stuff.

The girl I moved with ended up moving back to South Dakota in February. It’s not that she didn’t like it, just that she burned every bridge she had out here, and by burned every bridge I mean slept with everyone she knew here, including my ex. You might say that’s forgivable-we weren’t together and I had moved on to bigger and better things- however it’s not the first time she’d done that and she did it while I was going through the hardest time in my life. After being admitted to the hospital Christmas Eve, we found out my grandma had colon cancer. After two successful surgeries to remove the cancer, she coughed hard enough to throw a blood clot and passed away January 10th. That was a time I could have used my best girl friend instead of her ditching my calls because she was with him. Not forgivable after all. Before all of that, my ex and I ended up getting back together for a couple months, which probably wouldn’t have happened if he wasn’t so close in proximity and he and his 2 male roommates weren’t some of the only people we knew (we all went to school together in SD). I will say that if we hadn’t picked things up again, I wouldn’t have met my boyfriend. It’s funny how things work sometimes and how the smallest thing can change everything…

About dawn of april

Figuring life and the "about me" out as I go :) In a nutshell: I work, go to school, run a women's book club, support the local music scene in Denver, and whatever else floats my boat at the time.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to A year ago…How time flies!

  1. Pingback: Fate? Destiny? Coincidence? | dawnofapril

Leave a Reply

