About me??

I’ve started this blog with no clue what it will turn into. I’ve always enjoyed writing, so what the hell, let’s see what happens. As I’m doing the very simple task of creating it, I am asked “About me” for my profile. I looked at it for a while…Why does it seem that the question I am the only one capable of answering is the hardest that could be asked of me?

Maybe it’s that I am being asked to define myself. When people say “tell me about yourself” usually your job is the first go to topic. Most jobs can be described in one word; banker, doctor, nanny, cashier, etc. but that’s not all you are. Even if you give a one word title, you can always expand on it. So how much do I tell you? More so, how much do you care to know?

Let’s start with my job- I am a full-time nanny. More specific? Ok, I nanny for a great family with two boys; an almost 2 and a half year old and a 10 week old. I’ve been with them for 10 weeks now, and assist in getting the older child off to daycare and then spend the majority of my time with the baby. I love it and maybe I’ll talk about it more as I go.

I’ve lived in the Denver, CO area for 10 months now and am in love with this beautiful chunk of the world. Prior to my move here, I was born in a town nobody’s heard of Minnesota and lived my whole life in another town nobody’s heard of South Dakota. I have a large extended family in that area and I miss them everyday, but I will never move back.

Moving on to relationship status! I have an incredible boyfriend who is my best friend and an insanely talented musician. I met him my first night in Colorado at his band’s first show and we became good friends pretty early on. 6 months ago we moved it to “bf/gf” status and we now live together with our two fur babies, Yuna (german shepherd/husky mix) and Fia (austrailian kelpie). We’ve had our ups and downs, like every relationship does, maybe you’ll hear more about that, maybe not, but I am very confident about our future. 🙂

I am not super girly, so to say. I am into cars and motorcycles. I also like reading, writing (who would have guessed), photography, and other creative avenues…not to say I am good at any of those things. I enjoy hiking, the outdoors in general, and working out. Ok, sometimes I don’t “enjoy” working out, but I like how it makes me feel. I do like shoes, love shoes, especially heels (I’m 5’2″, he’s 6’4″- I’ll take any help I can).

I like movie nights, wine nights, game nights, girls nights, guys nights (most of my friends are guys- I get along better with them), going downtown, going to house parties. I mentioned my better looking half, seriously he’s gorgeous, is a musician so we do a lot of live music stuff and I love the music scene here. He is singer/songwriter/guitar player in a modern rock band comparable to 10 Years, Seether, Chevelle, Cold, Hurt, and the like. I have yet to go to a red rocks concert, but hopefully soon that will no longer be a true statement.

If you choose to check in with me every once in a while, you’re going to find I’m not always grammatically correct. Sometimes, though not often, I will swear. Mostly, this is the way I talk in “real life” so that’s what you get. Deal with it…or don’t, it’s up to you.

Initially, I said I didn’t know what was going to become of this and while that’s true, I feel like the next post and maybe even the one after that will be a little more of my backstory. Maybe you’ll learn something about South Dakota. Also, I was married once… and did I mention I just turned 24? In April, believe it or not. “Dawn of April” comes from my name; April Dawn. Clever, right? Haha. Imagine if I had been born in May.Image“If you do not conquer self, you will be conquered by self.” –  Napoleon Hill

About dawn of april

Figuring life and the "about me" out as I go :) In a nutshell: I work, go to school, run a women's book club, support the local music scene in Denver, and whatever else floats my boat at the time.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to About me??

  1. Pingback: The “appeal” of the mosh pit | dawnofapril

  2. bjpramann says:

    Thanks for the follow…I bet I’ve heard of that town in SD.

  3. Pingback: Viva la Mexico! | Dawn of April

  4. Pingback: EEEK! :) | Dawn of April

Leave a Reply

